The One with the Patterns

Week 3 of Summer School, though I don’t know if the first 3 day week actually counts.

In what is maybe not the most cohesive move, we start a new unit on linear functions and graphing this week (Goodbye area and volume). I largely pull from our linear functions unit from this year which largely pulls on CPM (credit where credit is due).

Photo: Student Work on PatternsPatterns ChallengeEduardo has been in my class for 2 years, which makes me somewhat wonder why he’s in my summer school class, but also thankful that he’s there to help support other kiddos as we go. He catches on to the patterns quick (and also has a helpful habit of saying “Wait, we learned this already”, which gives me some hope that what I teach may stick around for longer than the 65 minutes I usually see kiddos) and is quick to point out that the sentence structures for the opening are the same for this entire week (thanks, Estimation180).

He also carries over some unusual conceptions from the school year (that many other kiddos carry), including how to generalize figures with more squares. Admittedly not the most useful skill and probably not Common Core-approved, but it reminds me that I need to push kiddos to explain what the square represents and ground them in familiar concepts like base and height.

What do you notice? What do you wonder?

Leave a Reply

