3 Takeaways from 2015-2016

It’s hard to believe that the school year is over (thank you, school district, for starting early and ending early).

3 Takeaways from This Year:

  1. Group roles: Many teachers in our district use group roles so that all students have something to contribute and so that no one can or has to do all the work. I actually feel like simplifying the process made it easier to use. Instead of posting roles on chart, I just assigned roles based on which seat students sat in. Less complicated and clearer for students (and me). Most students know their role title (Task Manager, Group Manager). I’d love for them to own those roles and use them to productively move their groups forward.
  2. Belonging in the Classroom: One of my takeaways from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics conference was students’ mathematical identities and sense of belonging in the classroom. I think our school does a pretty good job of this already, but I’d like to keep thinking about how to, well, think more about this. Look for this. Measure this. This feels especially important since some students feel so scared of mathematics and because some students enter saying they love mathematics and then get scared away by the English.
  3. Standards: I’m pretty sure I say this every year. I feel pretty OK about what we’re teaching, but need to think more about how it relates to and fits with Common Core. Especially for students who struggle and for students who need more of a challenge, looking backwards and forwards in the Standards and Progressions might be the way to go.

    2016-05-21 20.12.33

    This is how I’m starting my summer.

Leave a Reply

