Day 173: The One With the Letter

Context: School Without Walls is our 2 week elective credit recovery program. I co-taught a course called Bike and Hike. Self-explanatory.

#MTBoS30 is a challenge by Anne Schwartz to post once a day for 30 days. I am catching up (#SorryNotSorry to ChitoAndKGo and AmusingMathias who actually get an email when I post)

***

Monday is apparently the day when everyone gets tired of School Without Walls.

We make the kiddos wait a long time, then get on a hot, packed bus.

Domingo does not get on the bus, which I don’t realize until the other teacher texts me.

He shows up on time (a rarity) the next day.

We make him write a letter and basically beg us not to fail him (he needs this class to graduate).

I’m sorry. But I’m not that sorry.

(One of my advisees, who has basically not shown up all of 2nd semester, shows up. We go bouldering. Despite her high heels, the nice people at the bouldering place swap her shoes. One of her friends makes her climb to the top of the bouldering thing. I am so, so pleased.)

Photo: The Letter in Question2016-05-24 17.18.40

Leave a Reply

