Day 171: Confessions of a Field Trip Chaperone

Context: School Without Walls is our 2 week elective credit recovery program where I co-teach a PE class called “Bike and Hike”.

#MTBoS30 challenges the math education writer to write a blog a day for 30 days. Inspired by Anne Schwartz and the Math Twitter Blog-o-Sphere (MTBoS)

Confession: Blogs titled “Confessions of…” make me a bit crazy.

Field trips also make me a little crazy.

We go kayaking today (Wednesday) which is both awesome and crazy.

It’s cold and windy at the bus stop. The bus doesn’t come. Everyone says they will refuse to go. “What if we die before the bus gets here?” Thomas 2 asks.

The bus comes.

I worry about getting all 22 kids off at the right stop.

It’s sunny and warm by the water.

We pair them in partners, which mostly works.

We tell students repeatedly to not bring phones and to bring a change of clothes.

Students end up wearing jeans. Students bring their phones into the kayaks.

I am paddling along, checking things out and wondering if this is something I should do more often when I realize that there are Kiddos In the Water.

I paddle over to Tomas and help him get into my kayak.

“Did you fall in?” I ask.

“No, me saltè.” I jumped.

We make Tomas swim over to his partner, then yell at the other 4 kiddos who are now in the water.

At one point, a kiddo makes me hold his phone in my lifejacket. I later drop it, by accident. Into. The. Water.

There is much swearing on my part and the kiddo in question basically checks out for the rest of the trip. I refuse to take pictures out of solidarity for the rest of the day.

Field trips are crazy making.

Favorite quote from a video another teacher made:

Àlvaro: Tengo miedo.

Teacher (off-screen): ¿Por què? (Why?)

Àlvaro: Por que me  puedo ahogar. (Because I might drown)

Àlvaro: Y si me ahogo, mi mamà me va a regañar. (And if I drown, my Mom is going to kill me.)

Photo: Reflection slips that kiddos fill out every morning. (’cause no kayaking photos)

2016-05-20 17.53.38

Leave a Reply

