Day 55: The One With the Grading Question

Grading is the worst. Projects are challenging. We’re at that part of the Packaging Project where groups find the surface area and volume of their package.

This group got off to a solid start. I gave them a less scaffolded version of the Find the Surface Area and Volume page. They called me over at one point and we had a talk about what to do next. We figured out how to find volume

And then one of the kiddos turned this in:

2015-11-09 17.45.46

I remember asking myself, “How do I grade this? They haven’t shown very much of their work. But I know they can find the volume because they told me how to.”

In the end, I think I gave them a C+ for that part of the project. They can do it, but I want them to explain each step. I wish I had made that clearer somehow.

Leave a Reply

