Day 125: The One with the Tangent/Inverse Tangent Stations

Why, hello there.

We’re midway through a unit on right triangle trigonometry. There were some struggles in the beginning, mostly with the procedural process of solving ratios and estimating scale factors (tricky for kiddos with interrupted formal education), but it feels like things are back on track.

Photo: Tangent and Inverse Tangent Stations

Tangent and Inverse Tangent StationsHaving learned about tangents and inverse tangents last week (the latter on a Friday, where many kiddos were absent on a field trip), we decided to have the kiddos work through a series of stations. They had to draw pictures, write the parts they knew (reference angle, adjacent side, opposite side, etc) and then solve for the missing side or angle. Still running into issues with solving ratios, but we’re making progress.

I’m also helped by an instructional coach who wisely reminded me to make expectations clear and reminded me that if I’m in a mood, my students are probably going to be in a mood. I know this (ostensibly) but it’s always nice to be reminded.

Related but unrelated:

  • Daylight Savings Time could not get here fast enough. I know John Oliver and most of Facebook disagrees with me (past me disagrees with me, even), but it does wonders for my mental state to get home and go for a run while it’s still light out.
  • By coincidence, I have 3 sub days in the next 3 weeks before spring break. Which is simultaneously great and…terrifying.
  • Giving a unit quiz and a unit project means…a lot of grading. Which, I knew. But still…
Leave a Reply

