So…How’s Your Summer Vacation Going?

“So…how’s your summer vacation going?”

This is how most of my conversations start these days. With my Mom. With my housemates. With my friends. With people I’m just meeting.

Sure, I don’t technically have to be “at a job”. But it’s been busy. I just haven’t had to be bright and sunny without coffee in front of my kiddos (who I miss, though I see some of them around town). Oh, and I can go to the bathroom whenever I want.

I get defensive about how the general public perceives teachers’ summers, which is totally unreasonable since no one actually asks this question in a negative way. But I do have to remind people that teachers work a lot during the summer when all I really want to be doing is sleeping and watching reruns of Veronica Mars. Hence this post.

Math Tiles

One of the math manipulatives we used in an Urban School workshop.

So here’s what I’ve done:

  • 2 weeks of curriculum writing. In preparation for next year’s district-wide Common Core roll out. Prepared units on mathematical modeling and orientation units on mathematical norms and culture building. Plus a 2 day conference in the middle.
  • 2 weeks of professional development classes. Learned about Mathematical Modeling and picked up a slew of hands-on, interactive tools and tasks (thanks Urban School and Bay Area Mathematics Project). Took one day to rest and one day to begin planning next year’s classes with curriculum partner.
  • 1 week in Latin America. Visited a friend doing work with food security and another friend managing an orphanage.
  • 1.5 weeks on the East Coast for a conference and travel. Bummed around New York. Talked about math, science, inquiry and education with rookie math and science teachers until my head exploded (and went to Friendly’s). Bummed around DC.

I get back tonight and district planning days start on Monday.

The Dog Days are Over, or however the song goes.

Leave a Reply

