Day 60: Patty Paper versus Rubber Bands

2013-11-13 13.38.11Our transformation unit continues. Students spent most of today’s class practicing transformations. At this point, students seem to be stronger at translating than they are with dilating. I’m not sure if it’s because of the tools (patty paper versus rubber bands) or because dilation seems like a bigger change to wrap one’s head around. Flipping was a problematic word, but once I demonstrated (by flipping over a sheet of paper), students caught on pretty quick.

The blue paper is from an activity that Curriculum Partner designed last night on a whim. It gave students a chance to practice more transformations and to talk about naming shapes. I tried it with various amounts of structure and direct instruction. One group imploded when two group members started arguing. I think it sidetracked me more than I would have liked, though I figured out (I think) that one group member felt the other wasn’t pulling their weight while the other group member felt left behind. We’ll see how it goes tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

