Day 41: Elevators and Negative Numbers

Weird day today – the 10th graders all took the PSAT (whole ‘nother post) so I had my 9th graders, plus the 9th graders from the other team. And also took half a day off to go to professional development.

We wanted to use what time we had wisely (with a sub facilitating at least half the classes), so my curriculum partner and I cooked up a lesson on negative numbers based on this worksheet from Illuminations. I got to see the first two classes, which happen to be my tougher classes.

Lots of students struggled with “up” being positive and “down” being negative. At one point, I made tables point up and say “up is plus” and “down is negative”, which I now wish I had made everyone do.

This photo of Jaime’s* work is pretty representative of some of the errors I saw – kiddos were able to connect the different numbers, but not always in the way I wanted them (and to be fair, I don’t know how culturally relevant elevators are to most of them):

Elevator misconceptionsI’d rate today a 3, but I don’t know how fair it is to give such a weird day a rating.

Here’s a shot of the board and my pockets and other work:

2013-10-16 19.18.25

*not his real name.

Leave a Reply

