Day 40: Triangle Area Equations

Triangle Area Equations

This photo is of two ways of finding a formula to calculate the area of a triangle and how I marked up the diagram to help students think through it. In retrospect, I wish I’d held the camera more steadily when taking this photo. I also wish I’d done more thinking on this beforehand (aside from the grading and other work I did this weekend. Uy.)

I’d rate today a 2 (in my ideal world, I rank every day on a 0-5 scale and then see how the ups and downs play out throughout the year).¬†Today’s lesson was rough. Curriculum partner and I spent quite a bit of Friday afternoon planning, but I think the idea was still too abstract for our kiddos. First period was struggle bus (though they fought valiantly). I think they had trouble wrapping their heads around why we were multiplying (to get the area of the rectangles) and then dividing (because the area of the triangle is half the area of the rectangle). Possibly too abstract, possibly casualties of the 3-day weekend.

I did have a talk with a student after school, who I’m trying to get to reflect on his behavior and he mentioned that he can do basic area things (count the squares in a gridded rectangle and even multiply base and height when they are numbers) but variables are still a jump for him.

And a collage of today’s photos:

2013-10-15 18.31.29

(the behavior contract in the middle frame is from the same student)

Leave a Reply

